Versions and principles of ITIL


In 1980, the Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (OGC) start
to develop ITIL for UK government ministries to produce a collection of  best practices. So, the first version of ITIL was
created in 1989, it costed 6 millions euros, this version contains 44 books and
those books were updated and condensed into 8 books, which became the version 2
of ITIL in 2000. Those books are essentially
based on the alignment of IT and business processes. It defines a common
language that improves communication between IT and business leaders.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

The version 3 was
created in 2007 and updated in 2011 (it is the last version of ITIL). The V3
presents new evolution like the extension of scope to the satisfaction of the
business services. The V3 define a method to integrate the IT and business
processes. So, to do this,  it delets the
borders between IT and business processes by replacing the computer language by
the language of business.

ITIL is composed
by thirty processes that are grouped into 5 phases corresponding to the 5
lifecycle of a service. Each phase corresponds to a book.


1.     Service Strategy


This phase is
based on the model of the 4P : Plan, Perspective, Patterns and
Positionning and it focuses on the global strategy of IT services and management.
Its mission is to create value to an IT service by understanding organizational
objectives and customer needs. This book covers the following topics : the
development of market spaces, business relationship management, demand management,
financial management, organizational development and strategic risks.


2.     Service Design


ITIL service
design gives guidance how to design and develop the services, its goal is to
convert strategic objectives into available services. It containes eight
processes : design coordination, service catalog management, management of
service levels, managing the availability, capacity management, managing the
continuity of IT, security management information, and supplier management.


3.     Service Transition


The service
transition details how organization make transition from one state to another
while controlling risk.

The processes of
this service are: planning and support a transition, change management and
validation testing services.


4.     Service Operation


This book
identifies best practices for delivering service level agreement (SLA) to end-users
and customers. It describes  those
processes : the management of events, execution of queries, incidents, and
access problems.



5.     Continual
service improvement


Service Improvement is the equivalent of the Management Systems described in
ISO 9001. This final phase allows the improvement of service management
process. It allows to define what to measure, collect basic data, analyze and
use information.

Benefits of ITIL :


The main
objectif of ITIL is to improve customer service. Adopting
the model brings many benefits to the organisation using it :



and responsibilities are defining  in
more precise way

resource utilization

competitivity and productivity of the organization

rework and eliminate redundant work

quality contol

user satisfaction (staff and customers)

the communication between services

processes with relevant and measurable indicators to identify levers for cost

quality of IT services

help to learn from previous experience


ITIL is developed for all type of the IT organization
and used in public or private company. It was developped to cover the lack of former
guidelines, for managing different aspects of IT Service Management and ensure quality
of IT services, so, ITIL gives robust practices and help organisation to cut
costs and improve the quality and notoriety of their services and their

ITIL is a combinaion of experience where companies
have bundled the best practices of service providers, but the practices of ITIL
are specific to a defined context.