According to Erik Erikson’s theory of Psychosocial Development, an individual goes through eight developmental stages. Erikson believed that each stage relates to a corresponding life stage and its inherent challenges. Erikson believed that each individual must face and cope with a central psychosocial crisis. In each stage, Erikson believed individuals experience a conflict that serves as a turning point in their development. In Erikson’s view, these conflicts are centered on either developing a psychological quality or failing to develop that quality. During these stages, the potential for personal growth is high, but so is the potential for failure. The eight crises outlined by Erikson are: basic trust versus mistrust, autonomy versus shame and doubt, initiative versus guilt, industry versus inferiority, identity versus identity confusion, intimacy versus isolation, generativity versus stagnation, and ego integrity versus despair.
Trust vs Mistrust occurs between birth and 18 months. Children develop a sense of trust when care givers provide reliability, care and affection.
Autonomy vs Shame and Doubt occurs between 18 months to 3 years.
Initiative vs Guilt
Industry vs Inferiority
Intimacy vs Isolation
Generativity vs Stagnation
Ego vs Dispair